Simply put, a User profile is a profile that can be set up to manage or simply help to manage a Revolut Business account. Those profiles can have specific roles (Owner, Admin, Viewer, Accountant) that will define which permissions are available for them or, in other words, what kind of actions can those users perform within the account. The permissions can also be edited manually while setting up the profile or afterward by the account owner, one of it’s administrators or any other user with permissions to edit and manage other users’ profiles.
User profiles are the only ones able to not only log in to the web interface but also see details about the account itself on the mobile app, in consonance with their permissions.
As for Employee profiles, those are pretty much cardholder profiles. Employee profiles are set up during the ordering card process. Even users of the account will have to set up Employee profiles for themselves, to be able to hold any of our cards. But normally, those profiles will be linked to their User one.
For non-users of the account, Employee profiles have their own set of predetermined permissions. Those Employees will only be able to log in to the mobile app and will only be able to see their own cards details and transactions.
Every User and non-user Employee profile will count for your free team members allowance. If at any point you went over that free allowance during one of your billing cycles, even if you block an Employee profile or terminate a User one you will be charged the extra 5 GBP on that month.